June 15, 2021

Global News Archive

News archives from around the world.

Want to quit Facebook over the Trump ban? Here’s how to delete your account. – USA TODAY

2 min read

The Facebook Oversight Board announced Wednesday its decision to uphold the ban of former president Donald Trump on its social platforms, namely Facebook and Instagram.

The Board’s decision came with a caveat saying it was not appropriate for Facebook to impose an “indeterminate and standardless penalty” of indefinite suspension and instructed the company to review the matter within six months, possibly opening the door to Trump’s return.

Following the news, spectators across the aisle only agreed that Facebook made a bad call.

Actor and activist Sacha Baron Cohen called on Facebook to “stop protecting politicians who spread lethal lies” on Twitter, while Texas Sen. Ted Cruz decried the “silencing” by “Big Tech oligarchs.”

The hashtag #DeleteFacebook started trending shortly after the Board’s announcement, with people announcing this was the last straw:

How to delete Facebook

Deactivate your account: According to Facebook, this move disables your profile and removes most of the comments or photos you have shared. Information such as direct messages to friends and your name in another person’s friends list may still appear. Your account will reactivate any time you log in. Also important: If you use any services where a Facebook login is required, that will reactivate your account, too, which means everything is restored.

Delete your account: If you are serious about removing Facebook from your life, you can request that your account be deleted in the Settings & Privacy area. As the option suggests, everything tied to your account is removed. Facebook says it may take up to 90 days to have all photos, status updates and other information completely removed. However, during the process, no one can view your account. Deleting also means no more commenting on websites requiring a Facebook login. It could also affect how you access apps if you chose to sign in with your Facebook credentials.

Before deleting your account, you may want to log in and download a copy of your information (like your photos and posts) from Facebook. After your account has been deleted, you won’t be able to retrieve anything you’ve added.

To delete your account:

  • Click on the drop-down menu in the top right of Facebook.
  • Select Settings & Privacy, then click Settings.
  • Click Your Facebook Information in the left column.
  • Click Deactivation and Deletion.
  • Choose Permanently Delete Account, then click Continue to Account Deletion.
  • Click Delete Account, enter your password and then click Continue.

► What about Instagram and WhatsApp? Something to remember if you really want to escape Facebook: They also own Instagram and WhatsApp. So, if you’re serious about not wanting your information near Facebook, you may want consider an alternative to those social platforms as well.

Follow Brett Molina on Twitter: @brettmolina23.

Source Link

Leave a Reply

Copyright ©2016-2021 Global News Archive. All rights reserved.